• 1965
    A major electric blackout occurs, affecting 30 million customers in the northeastern United States and southeastern Ontario, Canada.
  • 1967
    The U.S. Federal Power Commission report on the blackout recommends, “A council on power coordination made up of representatives from each of the nation’s Regional coordinating organizations to exchange and disseminate information on Regional coordinating practices to all of the Regional organizations, and to review, discuss, and assist in resolving matters affecting interregional coordination.” – Legislation proposed: Electric Power Reliability Act of 1967
  • 1968
    Twelve Regional and area organizations form the National Electric Reliability Council (NERC).
  • 1970
    Four organizations in the Southeast - the CARVA Pool, Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA), Southern Company (SOCO), and the Florida Electric Power Coordinating Group (FEPCG) - combine to form the Southeastern Electric Reliability Council (SERC). The Region is divided into four subregions – TVA, Southern, VACAR, and Florida. NERC now has nine Regional Councils. The SERC administrative office opens in Birmingham, Alabama.
  • 1981
    To recognize the Canadian membership in the Regional Councils, NERC changes its name to North American Electric Reliability Council, keeping the acronym NERC.
  • 1984
    The SERC administrative office moves to Chattanooga, Tennessee. The staff consists of an Administrative Manager and an Administrative Assistant. All technical work is performed by the committees and subcommittees, consisting of subject matter experts employed by member companies within the Region.
  • 1994
    The SERC administrative office moves to Birmingham, Alabama.
  • 1996
    The SERC member companies, formerly represented by FEPCG, form the Florida Reliability Coordinating Council (FRCC) and separate from SERC.
  • 1996
    The Operating Companies of Entergy, Associated Electric Cooperative, and Louisiana Generating, LLC ( formerly CAJUN Electric Power Cooperative) become official members of SERC, adding a fourth subregion (Entergy subregion) to SERC.
  • 2003
    The worst North American electric blackout to date occurs, affecting 50 million customers in the Northeastern and Midwestern United States and in Ontario, Canada.

    Canada Power System Outage Task Force formed to investigate the causes of the blackout and to make recommendations to prevent future blackouts.
  • 2004
    The final report of the U.S. – Canada Power System Outage Task Force on the 2003 blackout concludes that the single-most important recommendation for preventing future blackouts, and reducing the scope of those that occur, is for the U.S. government to make Reliability Standards mandatory and enforceable.

    In response, NERC translates its operating policies, planning standards and compliance requirements into an integrated and comprehensive set of 90 measurable standards called “Version 0 Reliability Standards.”
  • 2005
    SERC incorporates in the state of Alabama as SERC Reliability Corporation (dropping the Southeastern Electric Reliability Council name, but keeping the acronym).

    Version 0 Reliability Standards become effective. Voluntary compliance expected as a matter of good utility practice.
  • 2006
    The North American Electric Reliability Corporation (NERC) is certified as the Electric Reliability Organization (ERO) in the United States, pursuant to Section 215 of the Federal Power Act.  As the ERO, NERC may delegate authority to Regional Entities to monitor and enforce NERC Reliability Standards. As one of eight Regional Entities, SERC is delegated to perform certain functions from the ERO and is subject to oversight from the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC). SERC promotes and monitors compliance with mandatory Reliability Standards, assesses seasonal and long-term reliability, monitors the BPS through system awareness, and educates and trains industry personnel.
  • 2006
    SERC membership expands to include several members in the central part of the country, resulting in the creation of a fifth subregion in SERC. The names of the subregions are changed to Central (formerly the TVA subregion), Delta (formerly the Entergy subregion), Gateway (newly added), Southeastern (formerly Southern subregion), and VACAR.
  • 2007
    The SERC administrative office moves to Charlotte, North Carolina.